1863: Charles Frederic Brayton to Shubael F. Brayton

These nine letters were written by Charles Frederic Brayton (1843-1916), the son Shubael F. Brayton (b. 1812) and Mary M. Bunker (b. 1820) of New Bedford, Bristol county, Massachusetts. Charles was working as an apothecary in New Bedford when he enlisted to serve nine months in Co. E, 3rd Massachusetts Infantry. Though he was a private, he was detailed to assist the regimental surgeons in the hospital applying his apothecary skills in treating the ill soldiers. He mustered out with the regiment in June 1863 but later re-enlisted in the 15th Massachusetts Infantry and was promoted to sergeant before mustering out in June 1865.

Fred Brayton wearing his sergeant’s uniform when in the 15th Massachusetts (1865)

Letter 1

Camp Richmond Âą
near Newbern
November 30, 1862

Dear Father,

I improve the opportunity by writing. We have just come in from Regimental Inspection by the Colonel. It takes about 2 hours to go through the routine, musket, knapsack, haversack, and canteen. It is the only thing I dislike in the military life for I only have Sunday to clean up for I am busy the rest of the week. My opinion is that I had not ought to go on inspection but then that is the orders, and obey orders if you break [   ]—that is my motto and so far I have had an easy time of it by doing what I thought was right.

I am still in with the Quartermaster and go down the railroad every day or every other day. I shouldn’t wonder that I was employed for the rest of the 7 months. I expect the regiment will be broke up. Company I—that is the Fairhaven company—is going up to Plymouth which is about 160 miles from here. There is a report that we are going to do guard duty down to Morehead City or Beaufort but I don’t know how true it is. At least we have not been joined to any brigade and the rest of the 9 months troops have been put in brigades but you must not make up your mind as it being true. Anyhow we have the poorest muskets of any regiment out here and that is the only reason I have for breaking up the regiment and guarding these towns. There is any quantity of rumors in camp. To tell them all, it would take 3 or 4 days to write it all for every one that comes in the tent has a new rumor.

We are looking every day now for the mail. It was due 3 or 4 days ago. The Pay Master is supposed to be aboard the vessel and that is what makes the boys look so anxious for the steamer.

We had a splendid dinner Thanksgiving. We had 6 turkeys, 6 geese, 5 chickens which cost us $20 and a beautiful stew we had. It tasted as good as any I ever had to home. Anyhow, I had 3 plates full. You may laugh because they made a stew out of them. It was the only way we could cook it conveniently. I suppose you was thinking that we had nothing but hard bread and meat. Thanksgiving is made a holiday in the army—at least Major Gen. Foster gave the orders for services in the morning and pleasure in the afternoon so we had no drills during the day. At the close of the afternoon we had a mock Dress Parade. The sergeant major acted as colonel. The quartermaster sergeant as lieut.-colonel. and sergeants as captains and lieutenants in our company. E____ ___ was captain. Jim ___son was lieutenant. The officers was spectators and said that we done better than on the regular Dress Parade. In the evening we went and serenaded the captain [John A. Hawes] and he called us in and treated to apples. We generally have taps at 8 o’clock but being a holiday, [     ] the next camp to us the 44th Massachusetts. There was one company that raised $100 for a dinner. As a general thing, the whole regiment had a great dinner. Tables spread and invited their officers in to dine with them. In the evening they had a dance and kept it up till 12 o’clock. Our Colonel, Lieut.-Colonel, and Major had an invitation over. I had as good a time Thanksgiving as I ever had to home.

It is reported that 2 more regiments have arrived at Morehead City. I expect they are going to get a large force and then attack G____ton or Wilmington. I see by the papers that Gen. McClellan has been superseded by Gen. Burnside. I am afraid he has got more than he can take care of. He will find that it is not so easy to handle 150,000 men as it does 15,000 men although I hope he will do something. It is reported from Southern papers that Fredericksburg is taken. If it is, they will soon attack Richmond.

I have just come in from Meeting. The Meeting holds about Âľ of an hour. Mr. [Charles A.] Snow is a young preacher but is pretty smart. Capt. [George R.] Hurlbut attends all the meetings and talks in the prayer meetings. I saw at the Meeting Capt. Bailey of the Millinotset [?]. He is in here with apples, [   ] &c. from [    ]. I wrote to grandfather Thanksgiving night. I wrote 7 pages to him. I gave him an abstract of things around here. The next time you write, I wish you would send me his address so I may know whether I direct them right.

Charles Tobey ² sends his respects to you. Remember me to all enquiring friends and send me some postage stamps every time you write. You must excuse the writing for I try to give and abstract of things that occur during the week. From your son, — Charles F. Brayton


Âą Camp Richmond was named after the commanding officer of the 3rd Massachusetts Infantry, Col. Silas P. Richmond.

² Charles H. Tobey was a sergeant in Co. E, 3rd Massachusetts. He was from New Bedford. He later served in the 58th Massachusetts Infantry.


Letter 2

Camp Richmond
Near Newbern
December 7, 1862

Dear Parents,

Another mail arrived this morning and I received a letter of the 30th which I now answer. Every Sunday morning we have to go on inspection which is 10 o’clock and lasts about an hour. After that there is nothing to do till Dress Parade which is at Â˝ past 4. You say that I ought to write a little every day but if you was here you would think different for we drill about 5 hours a day and what little time there is we take to clean our muskets. Those we have to keep as clean as a pin for if the Capt. should find any dirt, we would be sent to our quarters to clean them but if I am in guard or picket, I may get a few moments to write a few lines. And another thing, there is not much news out here. The 3-year boys say that they don’t write so much as they did when they first came out for the very reason that there is no news of importance out here.

I am sorry to hear that Grandmother is so slim. I am afraid that she will not stand it long by the way you write. Give her my respects and tell her I will try and write to her.

How does George B. look with a beaver on? I had a letter from Martin and he said that he wore a beaver. If I was to home, I should have to wear one so to be in style.

Walter was up to camp yesterday. He is 2d Lieut. of the company. Lieut. Lary has resigned and Walter will probably get the commission in 3 or 4 weeks. Their Colonel has resigned and the other officer will be promoted and expect Capt. Hart will be Major. If so, Walter will be 1st Lieutenant. He wished to be remembered the next time I wrote. Fred Maxwell Âą just came in the tent with a pipe in his mouth. He sends his respects and says he likes war first rate. By the way, I have not got to smoking yet. I think I stand it pretty well when most every one in the tent smokes.

I suppose it is pretty cold with you now. It is with us. Last night was the coldest night we have had since we been here. Ice made over an inch thick which is pretty cold for this place.

Give my respects to the folks on 2d Street and also to Grandfather the next time you write. Give my love to the children and Aunt Sue, and all enquiring friends and I must close for it is time for our regular bake beans.

From your son, — Chas. F. Brayton


Âą Frederic T. Maxwell [Maxfield] was a private in Co. E, 3rd Massachusetts Infantry. He was from New Bedford.


Letter 3

Camp “Jourdan”
Newbern, [North Carolina]
March 19, 1863

Dear Mother,

As I have a few moments to spared, I improve the time by writing a few lines. I am well and enjoying myself finely in my new position. I have been quite busy today cleaning up things for the U. S. Inspector has been around inspecting the quarters and examining men for discharges.

There is 12 to be discharged but none from Co. E although there is three that ought to have their discharge that were hurt up to Goldsboro and one is my friend Charles Briggs. He will never be able to do any duty out here although he says he will not take his discharge for the reason that we have only three months longer to stay and he wants to wait so to go home with the company.

The weather with us today is very disagreeable. The wind is in the Northeast—kind of a drizzle and cold—regular catch cold weather—so that we have quite a number at the morning call. Another reason is that the regiment has been on the go so that the boys are most run out. But they will get some rest now. Col. Jordan, commanding the Brigade, has gone home on a leave of absence of 20 days and the boys will be rested. Tuesday 4 companies were out on picket about 13 miles from here to a place called Deep Gully where our pickets were driven in last Saturday night.

Since writing last, the Negro that was Gen. Pettigrew’s body servant came into our lines last Sunday and was in Capt. Hurlbut’s tent last night. He says they were sure of taking Newbern. They were to attack in two different points but Gen. Hill—the one that made the attack on Trent Road—got scared and skedaddled and after awhile Gen. Pettigrew came to the same conclusion (which I think was a wise one) and skedaddled. It seems they had an idea that there was no force at Newbern but had gone to Charleston so now was the time to attack and burn the place. But they got sadly disappointed for there is a force of 20,000 men besides the gunboats here and I believe our folks intend of making it a military point for the base of operations.

It seems the Rebels have information at Kinston every day of our doings here, so you can see that there is some Seash in Newbern for all the Union feeling that there is here. I have come to the conclusion that there is not much Union feeling in the southern cities only when the Federal troops guard them and at another time when the Federal forces are on an expedition and are passing any house, they they are for the Union. But afterwards they are for the South. But turning from Southern to Northern parts, what do the boys to home think of the Conscript Act? I hear they are shaking in their boots for fear of being drafted. I think it would be a good thing for my cousin, George Toby, to come out here. It would agree with his system to go on a 175 mile march with only 5 days rations. George Coggshell only went out last Sunday and came back Monday after a march of 26 miles and he thought it was awful. He thinks that expeditions are played out.

There has been some difficulty in Co. I so that Capt. Ewer and Lieut. Lyle have been arrested. It is reported that they have been swindling the Government on cotton but how true it is I don’ know so Lieut. Mason has been ordered and gone to take command of the company. Capt. Hawes is going to take command in a week or so. He is waiting to see whether we are going to be paid off or not. There is a report that we are to be paid in a course of 10 days which I hope may prove true for every one, even the officers, are short of funds.

We are looking for the Major ever day now. His leave of absence is up tomorrow. There is a mail expected every hour and I suppose he will come in that mail boat. I shall expect a letter if nothing more by him.

Charles Toby is well and sends his regards to all and tell Father that he owes Charles a letter. Give my regards to Aunt Sue and the girls and also to the 2d Street folks. Also remember me to all enquiring friends. From your only son, — Chas. L. Brayton, Co. E, 3rd Regt. Mass Vol.

Newbern, North Carolina


Letter 4

Camp “Jourdan”
Newbern, [North Carolina]
April 3rd 1863

Dear Parents,

I received by mail yesterday two letters from you—one from Phebe, one from Sarah, and one from Martin. I was attending to morning [sick] call when I received them and Dr. [Alfred Augustus] Stocker wanted to know if I had a mail bag for my benefit for I always receive 4 or 5 letters every mail.

I am glad to hear you are so well but am sorry that Suny and Mary are ailing. I guess Mary tramped too much in Taunton and got cold. I am glad to think that she and Mary Emma like each other so well. I think that Mary Emma is very much of a young lady.

It seems to me that you have had more than the “law allows” of colds in the family this winter for every time I hear from home, someone has a cold. I have not had a cold since I left home. You had better send the family out here (I mean if they were men) and they would have no colds. Expeditions cures all complaints.

Tell Mary not to grow too fast nor have too many beaux coming to the house. I shall put a stop to it when I get home. I see that Mark Trafton is to preach again in place of Mr. Studley at the County St. I did not think that he would come back to New Bedford again. Why don’t they keep Mr. Studley another year? I am surprised to hear that George B. has left Hattie Tripp. What seems to be the matter? I see he still has a fancy to the Tripp’s if he goes with a girl by that name over to Fairhaven.

It seems too bad if the account is true that Uncle Charles’ ship is burnt at Melbourne for I think myself he was in a place where he was likely to succeed as he had been in her so long.

I am of the same opinion as you about Uncle Sam—that he will have to stay till his time is out for the President has other matters to attend to without hearing his case. I should like to see him very much. I see you want to know why I did not write about Charles Toby’s diarrhea—because I did not think it was of enough account to mention it. If he had been in the hospital, I should of wrote to you of it.

I should like to have a plate of your chowder. I don’t think it would go bad. But Dr. [Woodbridge R.] Howes treated us to oyster stew for dinner yesterday and in about 2 months I should like to have a “clam chowder.”

When I was to home you remember that you told me perhaps i might see the time that I would eat pork. That time has come. I can eat “Fat Pork,” coffee without “milk,” bread without “butter.” I don’t see but what a man can get use to anything for I am as well contented as the day I arrived here.

I received a letter from Mr. Otis and by the way he writes, I should judge that I was to have my place if I return but time will tell. He wrote me that he liked Ned pretty well.

Last Tuesday the regiment went on another review over back of Fort Totten. It was a cold day and after they had stayed there three quarters of an hour waiting for Gen. Prince who did not come, they received orders to go to their quarters so it did not amount to much. Yesterday being Fast Day, at 10 the regiment formed on “Color Line” and the Colonel read the Proclamation and give the boys a holiday as far as was requisite with military duties so the boys enjoyed themselves playing ball. The Colonel and Major were both out looking on, seeing the fun.

I wish you could see our camp. It looks like “Camp Meeting.” The different companies went out in the woods and brought in a lot of trees and put down in the different company streets. Co. E built an arch over their street and in the middle of the arch they hung a wreath with the letter E in it which looks [so] handsome that the Colonel had the company put one over the main entrance with “MA (3) S.S.” in it which pleased the Colonel very much.

I received the towels you sent me yesterday by George Jenkins. I am much obliged for them although I have two on hand and don’t use them. I use “Uncle San’s” goods now [that} I am in the “Hospital Department.”

I was in Dr. Howe’s tent the other afternoon and talking over school boy times. I found that he is well acquainted with Aunt Patience [and] that he use to teach school down on the Neck when he was 15 years old and boarded to her house. Dr. Howes I like very much. I go in his tent and he laughs and jokes about the “Homeopathy Doctors” and says they are not of any accounts.

By my paper that I received last night, I see that they are having some talk about the Major receiving two officer’s pay. The regulations say that an officer holding office in the Army cannot hold a vivil office. I believe it is a State’s Prison offense but by the way the paper reads, he is bound to keep both offices. I guess he feels a little anxious for he is very anxious to know when the mail is going.

While I am writing, I hear heavy cannonading off towards Little Washington about 35 miles from here. A report has just come saying that our side got the best of it. The 44th Massachusetts was probably in the fight as they went up that way some 10 days ago.

John Barnett is about the same. All he can eat is 5 teaspoonful of gruel to a time. If he takes any more, it distresses him. Hardly enough for a man to live on. Charles Toby is well and send his regards. Remember me to the family and 2d Street folks, and to Mr. Otis. As I don’t think of any more, I must close for this time. From your only son, — Chas. F. Brayton

P. S. If you can find any way to send me any money, sed me 5 one dollar S. S. Treasury notes so I can pay my washerwoman. — Charles F. Br.


Letter 5

Camp “Jourdan”
Newbern
April 6, 1863

Dear Parents,

Hearing that the mail closes this afternoon, I thought I would drop a few lines.

Well all I can say my health still continues good and also my appetite so that I can eat my own ration of roast beef and potatoes, such as we had for dinner yesterday.

The weather with us today is warm and pleasant. This morning when I arose, it seemed like a morning in May, but before, since the month came in, it has been cold, the wind blowing all the tie and seemed more like March than April. I think now that we will begin to see warm weather.

Yesterday George Allen (the Ward Master) and myself thought we would go down and hear Mr. Stone preach, the chaplain of the 45th Mass. He preached in New Bedford at the time the Conference was at the Stone Church. So he had to carry 3 men to the hospital and then we went to Church as we supposed to hear Mr. Stone. Well he had just given out his text as some one came in and asked him to tell the 3rd [Massachusetts] to report to their quarters for they were under marching orders, so George and myself took our caps and started double quick. As quick as we got to camp, everything was in confusion for we were to start in an hour with 3 days rations.

Dr. [Alfred A.] Stocker and Hospital Steward got ready and left for Dr. [Woodbridge R.] Howes and the “Apothecary” to look after those left behind. The regiment started at 5 o’clock for Foster’s Wharf to board transports but when they got there, they had to wait Âľ hour (military necessity) for the transports were not ready just then. A “Dispatch Boat” arrived from Gen. Foster at Little Washington, so the regiment had orders to return to their camp where the “Boys” arrived at Â˝ past 6, much pleased with their Expedition. Today the regiment is under marching orders to be ready to move at a moment’s warning with 3 days rations cooked and 7 uncooked, but at the same time we may not start at all. If the regiment does go, it is doubtful whether I go or not for Dr. Stocker generally goes, and Dr. Howes stays behind, and when Dr. Howes is left behind, I stay too.

Every regiment in Newbern is under marching orders. I had considerable “Business” this morning at morning call. We had 90 cases, and I tell you I had to “fly around some.” If I had as many prescriptions to put up to home, I should be doing a “big business.” Yesterday we had only 30 cases so you can see what the idea of an Expedition will do. If I was some of them, I would be ashamed of myself. There is one thing I can say—that I never missed a day’s duty while I was with the company. The Major is well and sends his regards to you.

Fred Maxwell just came in and sends his regards. Also Charles Tobey. Give my regards to Aunt Sue and the family. Also to the 2nd Street folks.

So goodbye for this time from your only son, — Chas. F. Brayton, Co. E, 3rd Regt. Mass. Vol. M., Newbern, North Carolina


Letter 6

Camp Jourdan
Newbern [North Carolina]
April 14th 1863

Dear Parents,

Having a few moments to spare, I improve the time by writing a few lines.

I should of written Sunday but I was sick a bed so that I could not hold my head up. i had the diarrhea for 3 or 4 days before and Sunday at the morning call I had to give up and go to bed—the first time I have been sick since I have been out here. But I am well again now and on duty. I used my medicine up to Sunday but was so sick that I had to have Dr. Howes come in and see me. I had a headache and dizzy head so he gave me something and I went to sleep and in the morning I was better.

Today is Suny’s birthday. I wish that I had something to send her for a present but there is nothing out here to send so give her my regards and tell her I have not forgotten here if I do not write to her.

We are looking for the mail every day now. There was one arrived the other day but I did not get one from you—only from grandfather. I am glad to hear that he is so well in his old age. In it he gave me a description of the burning of Uncle Charles’ ship and that Uncle just saved himself just as he was. I do think that Uncle Charles has the luck of it, but I am glad to he that he has got a chance in another ship and hope he will be successful.

My box arrived safe Friday. Also Charles Tobey’s. Everything came in good shape except the jar that the butter came in and that was cracked to pieces. The butter was first rate—at least those to the table thought so. The other things I have not touched yet for my bowels were not in the right condition but shall at supper time.

Fred Maxfield and Leander Swift were down Sunday afternoon so I let them taste and they said the cookies were nice and both send their regards. I wish you could heard Fred get off some of his old sayings as he was eating. Mr. Allen (the Ward Master) seemed to think they were very nice and like to have you come out out as cook to the hospital for he would like to have just such a cook as you. So I don’t see but what your cooking is liked very much. I gave Charles Briggs the pin cushion that Suny sent. Also one loaf of cake with your regards which he was very thankful for and wished to be remembered the next time I wrote. The fife is just the thing. He likes it very much although he has not had much opportunity to use it.

He is in the hospital with the measles but is getting along as well as can be expected. I go in and see him every day. The paper that you sent me came in time for I was about out. I expect you think that I do some writing. I have come to that conclusion myself.

[no signature]


Letter 7

aacivbray1

Camp “Jourdan”
Newbern
May 3d 1863

Dear Parents,

I now improve the time by writing and also let you know how I am getting along. Well my rheumatism has got out of my legs into my feet, and there it has stopped. For how long, I can’t tell you. My feet and ankles are so swelled that I can’t wear my boots so I am wearing the carpet slippers that Phebe gave me. I don’t know what I should do without them.

My feet don’t ache only when I walk so Dr. [Woodbridge R.] Howes has stopped me from attending the morning call and makes me lounge on the bed. Says if I walk on them, it irritate them so he wants me to keep as still as I can, and he thinks I shall soon get over it which I hope I shall. I have lost 10# of flesh, but Dr. Howes says I will gain it again as soon as I get rid of the rheumatism.

I hope to hear that you are all well for I think the family has had their share of sickness.

The weather with us today is very warm indeed. I am sweating like rain while writing here. It is as warm as a day in August, but I think we shall have a thunder shower before night. It looks that way now. I never heard such thunder up North as they have out here.

I don’t think that we will go on another Expedition—our time is so near out—and besides, they are placing the 3 years troops in summer quarters. Some are up to Little Washington; others are guarding the railroad from Newbern to Morehead City, and that looks as if there were not much to be done till next fall, for the Rebels can’t march in hot weather any better than we can.

There has been another Expedition up the railroad. Some of the troops were left at Coir Creek, and the advance went within 10 miles of Kinston. Took 2 batteries and 100 prisoners. This is the report but whether it is true or not, I don’t know. I had a few lines from George Coffin last week. He says they have a beautiful camp side of the railroad and also a cool breeze from the ocean. They are encamped at Carolina City. The city is composed of one Meeting House, 3 houses, 1 store and 2 barns. That is what they call a city out here.

Lieut. Kieth was well and wished to be remembered the next time I wrote to you. Charles Tobey is well and healthy and sends his regards. Remember me to Mary and Susey and to all the family and to all enquiring friends. From your own son, — Charles F. Brayton


Letter 8

Camp “Jourdan”
Newbern
May 6, 1863

Dear Parents,

As the mail closes at Â˝ past 11 I will try to get a few lines in.

I have just got through with the morning call so I have not much time to write in. Yesterday I had 1 letter from Aunt Sue and last night another mail arrived and I had one from you and 1 from Grandfather. I shall answer his this afternoon. I don’t like the way the mails go. The steamer say will get in tonight and tomorrow at 11 o’clock it goes again which don’t give us much time to write in.

Well I suppose you are anxious to hear from me. I have got over my rheumatism and went on duty this morning the first time for 3 days. I shall get along nicely now, I guess, if I take good care of myself. I am not very stout yet but I am gaining every day and so is my appetite. Dr. [Woodbridge] Howes says he’s got me “all right” and time will bring me where I was before.

He had quite a laugh when I told him what you wrote about medicines—especially “calomel and [?]” for that is something that I have not seen since I’ve been apothecary. It is something that we do not use.

Out time is out the 23rd day of June. That is what came to the Colonel from Washington but whether we will leave here before or after the 23rd, I can’t tell but the talk seems to be that we will leave before the 23rd.

I am surprised to hear that you have not received the money from the [?] for I thought you received it some time ago. I don’t see why the Bedford Office don’t pay if the other offices have.

The weather with us is very warm so that yesterday down in the city the thermometer was 105 in the shade. It is so hot that we have drill from 7 to 8½ in the morning and from 4 to 5½ in the afternoon. So you see they have to take the cool of the day to drill in.

Give my regards to the family and all enquiring friends. You must excuse me for not writing more for I only had Â˝ an hour.

John Barnett is getting along nicely but I don’t think he will get home before the middle of May. Goodbye for this time.

From your only son, — Chas. F. Brayton


Letter 9

Camp “Jourdan”
Newbern, [North Carolina]
May 29, 1863

Dear Parents,

As the mail will probably go tomorrow, I thought I would pen a few lines. The mail arrived this morning and I was disappointed in not getting a letter for it is the 3rd mail that arrived and no letter for Charles. Now when I left home you wished me to write every chance I had and have tried to do so and expect you would do the same. But the time is so short that it don’t make much difference. I don’t expect to get more than two or three more letters from you and by the way, I would write the last one the 7th of June for it will be the 15th or 20th by the time I receive it and by all probability we shall break camp about the 16th and that will give us 10 days to get to Boston and be mustered out in.

But I will write you you every mail if I have chance. We are all sick with the diarrhea—Doctor Howes, Doctor Stocker, George Allen, and myself. I have lost five pounds but think I am better now. One spell I had to run 6 or 7 times a day but I have not been once today so I think Doct. Howes has got me on the mending hand. None of us has been off duty however. Doct. Howes had the same complaint when he was in the 18th Mass. and had to resign and come home. I don’t believe he will get clear of it until he arrives home.

This morning we had over 60 cases to the [sick] call and over half of them complained of diarrhea. Doct. says it is very prevalent this time of year in such hot climate and a man has to be very careful what he eats. But all that is sick will get well as soon as they arrive home when they can get the salt water breeze.

Day before yesterday Gen. Foster was up and made a short speech to the regiment saying that out time is most out and when the nine-months men go home, it is going to leave him short handed and the Rebs may come and attack him. If they do, he shall fight them. He also said that he was going to raise an Artillery Regiment to garrison the forts in this department to be composed of Massachusetts men. Five of the companies are already raised up North and he would like to get the other seven from the nine-month’s men and would like to have one company from this regiment. The inducements are $25 from U S. and $50 from Gov. Andrew and $75 when the war is over.

Our sergeant-major has received a commission as 2nd Lieutenant but I have not heard of any privates enlisting yet, but should not be surprised then some the regiment enlisted after they have been home a little while. What do you think of my enlisting as Hospital Steward for three years or the war? Just let me know in your last edition.

I think that those who have enlisted in the Heavy Artillery there to home thinking they are to garrison Fort Phoenix all the time will find themselves “putting on their armour” and coming out here to form part of the Heavy Artillery Regiment. I think the officers played a good thing on the men by telling them that they should not go out of the state for if they are mustered into the United States service, they can order them to any place they see fit.

I understand that Abe has called for 300,000 more men. That is to fill the places of the nine-month’s men and if that is so, I think they will have to draft. And just tell some of my cousins to look out or they may have him for the war if they come to drafting. As we have served for nine months, I don’t think that Government will do anything with us for two years although they may have our names in the draft and stand our chance with the rest of being drafted.

Charles Tobey is well and sends his regards to all hands. Remember me to Aunt Sue, the family, and all enquiring friends. from your only son, — Chas. F. Brayton

P. S. If you know the number of letters I have written to you, I wish you would send me the number for I should like to know.

2 thoughts on “1863: Charles Frederic Brayton to Shubael F. Brayton”

Leave a comment