1864: Ira Brown to Emma Ida (Lovett) Brown

I could not find an image of Ira but here’s a CDV of Samuel J. Dean of Co. G, 188th New York Infantry

This letter was written by Ira Brown (1846-1911) of Almond, New York, who received a $1,000 bonus to enlist in mid-September 1864 at Phelps to serve one year in Co. B, 188th New York State Volunteers. Ira mustered out with the regiment in July 1865. Though the first letter from City Point, Virginia, was undated, it was probably written in early November 1864.

Letter 1

aacivmoor8
Addressed to Mrs. E. Ida Brown, Almond, New York

Camp near City Point
[early November 1864?]

Two weeks ago this morning I left home but little did I think that by this time I should be encamped on Virginia soil. When we landed, you ought to have seen the mules & niggers that come down to the landing after hay—6 mules to each wagon & a nigger to drive. They drove them with one line. We marched along up to this place and all along the way it was quite a sight to see the horses & mules, niggers, baggage wagons, pontoon bridges, tents & soldiers &c.

We struck our tents on a very nice piece of ground. The weather is warm & pleasant here now. The roads are as dry & dusty as they are there in July. They are throwing up earthworks in front of us, our lieutenant says, twenty miles in length, They are as far as I can see. We are ordered out this afternoon to work on them, I have been ordered out twice since I commenced writing this letter—once to get wood to cook with & once to clean a way in front of our tents. We are 20 miles from Petersburg by railroad. It is not as far by land. We can hear the cannon roar every little while from that point.

We have got a very good tent to stay in. Charley, Wesley Allen ¹ & myself tent together. We fixed it up as good as we could & went & got a lot of pine boughs for our bed. They make a very good one. But I must stop writing a few minutes to go & draw my rations.

I have got done eating dinner & will finish writing now. We had for dinner beed & beef broth for breakfast. This morning we had a cup of coffee & for supper last night we had a cup of coffee & a loaf of good bread. For dinner yesterday we had five hardtack so you see what we have to live on. I think I shall get fat on that.

I have not heard from home since I left there. I presume you have written a number of letters but I have been moving around so much that I have not received them. I want to hear from home so bad, I don’t know what to do. You must write as soon as you receive this letter & tell me all the news. (I have just drew five more hardtack for dinner today.)

I don’t know as I think of any more news to write at present. When you write, write as long a letter as I have this time. Let our folks read this letter or tell them what is in it if you wish. Good day & believe me to remain your own, — Ira

P. S. When you write, direct to the 188th Regt. NYSV, Washington DC, Care of Lieut. Jones. Please forward.


¹ Wesley Allen, b. Feb 13, 1842, W. Almond, NY. Parents – Wessen ALLEN and Sally Ann STEWART. He was a Private in the 188th regiment, Co. B, and enlisted in Victor, Ontario, on September 15, 1864 for 1 year. He enlisted in Ontario County, Bounty $1000, Discharged on July 13, 1865. Single, farmer.


Letter 2

Addressed to Mrs. E. Ida Brown

Camp 188th Regt. N. Y. Vol.
November 12th 1864

Dear Old Gal,

I received your dear letter last night as I expected & was right glad to hear from you & that you was all well at home. It is Saturday & we do not have to drill any today, They give us Saturdays to work on the street between our tents, each company for a street & their tents are on each side of it & we have to keep it clean and neat. We have to clean out our tent every morning & shake out our blankets & hang them out to air a short time, then fold them up & lay them at the head of our bunk. Our bunks are built of poles with pine boughs for our bed. They make a very good one. Our lower is 18 inches from the ground & the upper one about 4 feet high.

I have been looking for a letter from Frank for some time & if he does not write before long, I shall trouble him with another letter. I have wrote two to him that I have not received no answer. I wrote to him about a week ago. You tell Frank what I said about his writing. All I presume he will write before you receive this letter.

You spoke about sending for that magazine next year & asked me what I thought about it. I have nothing to say about things now. There will be time enough to ask me after I get home about such things. Don’t you think so, my dear?

I was quite surprised to think you would ask me if I would be jealous if you answered Billy’s letter. Did you think I would be? I don’t know as I ever give you any reason to think so. No, Ida most assuredly, I would not. I am quite willing you should answer all the letters you receive.

I suppose Old Abe is elected again. You spoke about Charley voting for him. He is not old enough to vote but I guess if he had been, he would. When he left home, he was a strong McClellan man, but he is straddling the fence—ready to follow the way the largest crowd goes. I stand firm yet & think I always shall. I know I am as long as this war lasts, for I long for peace. Give me peace rather than war. We have had enough for the last four years, but there is a fair prospect for four years more if Abe is elected. But I only enlisted for one year & let them get me no longer if they can—if I live the length of time.

You said in one of your letters that you wished I could get a furlough. Yes, dear girl, I wish I could, but that is a vain wish. I am enlisted to stay one year, if not longer. I hope not yet it is possible.

But I must close this time. I will write again soon if nothing does not turn up to prevent it. Good day my darling. Give yourself no uneasiness in regard to my welfare. From your affectionate husband, — Ira

One thought on “1864: Ira Brown to Emma Ida (Lovett) Brown”

Leave a comment